top of page
Search
  • nkhan98

Phase 1, Post 7: Prototype Reflection

In our group discussion last Wednesday I learned a lot of cool new things from my partner. Our group was small because we were both in the sort of "other" section of the room since our inventions had to deal with both hardware and software. Both of our ideas are already existent. My partner's idea was to create a virtual reality in the classroom, which is already existent. However, his idea differed a little from what is made. He wanted to make it more of an interactive classroom so there is no feel of missing out on anything. In this, students are being served with the prototype. I think their overall salient identities may be catered to disabled people, international students who can't attend class, or maybe even hospitalized/sick students. I think this is important to keep in mind for the future because it is important the education is UNIVERSAL and accessible to everyone - hence, equal opportunities. Currently, there are many ways for these people to be served by technology, especially for disabled people. I remember last year in class there was one disabled student who used something almost similar to a virtual reality goggle, except he used it to see his laptop screen. I am not completely sure what all the purposes were of the goggles, but I do remember one feature was so that the screen would be more zoomed in. I think keeping all types of people/salient identities in mind for future inventions and innovations is key because it should be accessible to EVERYONE.

My idea was a portable scanner, but I decided to scratch that idea and come up with something new. I think I will stick to work and tech field for my project. I hope to make something that is both hardware and software as to create a "looks alike" type of product. Currently, I am researching the idea of creating an app with a sensor that is attachable to your phone to turn your phone into a mouse for your laptop. The product has already been made, but it is not a movable mouse which is why I want to create it with a sensor on the phone case to make your phone feel like an actual working mouse. (More details on the prototype design and ideas soon!)

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Phase 2, Post 14: Extra Credit Human Centered Design

Human centered design is the ideal of gaining feedback to improve a design or product. It takes into account the user preference and the perspectives of different people. So, how do we determine what

Final Project : Mouse Case

Link to Video : https://promo.com/share/5cd06ddf861eda0eca33b421 Link to Essay : file:///C:/Users/nabok/OneDrive/Documents/NYU/Spring%202019/3904B/D&T%20Final%20Post.pdf

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page