top of page
Search
  • nkhan98

Phase 2, Post 4 : Idea Switch

Updated: Apr 10, 2019

For our midterm project we made a backpack to improve health and back pain as a group. However, for the final we have each decided to work individually on different projects. I've decided to work on my original product the MouseCase. Although it does not focus on any benefits for lower class consumers like the backpack did, I do believe it has to do with class. It will market to students and workers. Its main attraction is convenience and so the target audience is still commuters. It is one solution to many for an easy and accessible use for a mouse that does not take up much room in your book bag. The mouse also has to do with age because in this tech world that we live in, people conform to technology to make it a part of who we are. For example, often times we say "I am out of charge" rather than saying "my phone is out of charge". This shows how technology has become a part of us and as we grow older we should familiarize ourselves with its capabilities. So, the target audience is for younger age groups. Regarding disability, the MouseCase will be most beneficial for those with carpal tunnel or to prevent it. Using the mousepad on a laptop can get annoying because it is uncomfortable. Providing a more versatile and comforting mouse would help improve wrist pain.

Moving forward I will interview my peers at school who work multiple jobs, my boss at work who is all about a "minimalist" approach at life, and possibly other students I work with. I would start off my questioning with the basic question of whether they use a mouse or not - what type of mouse. I would go more in depth on their views of the mousepad on the laptop and how they feel about it's engineering - whether they like the design or not. My main focus on why I want to create the MouseCase is because I am very interested in human factors in engineering, or in other words ergonomics.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Phase 2, Post 14: Extra Credit Human Centered Design

Human centered design is the ideal of gaining feedback to improve a design or product. It takes into account the user preference and the perspectives of different people. So, how do we determine what

Final Project : Mouse Case

Link to Video : https://promo.com/share/5cd06ddf861eda0eca33b421 Link to Essay : file:///C:/Users/nabok/OneDrive/Documents/NYU/Spring%202019/3904B/D&T%20Final%20Post.pdf

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page