top of page
Search
  • nkhan98

Phase 1, Post 2: Makerspace

Updated: Feb 3, 2019

In order to use the 3D printer or anything in the makerspace you must first attend the safety orientation. I attended the orientation in my freshman year (I am now a junior). I had forgotten a couple things like how to print on the program Cura so I needed a little bit of a refresher before I used the 3D printer. I went through the safety orientation again and learned how to use the different machines. It was like a tour of the makerspace where we got to see different prints in progress. I've previously used the soldering iron there to make a couple different things. When I was an Electrical and Computer Engineering major I was in the club IEEE. I attended one of their soldering workshops in which I made a voice changer with a microphone and speakers. There were 4 different settings: normal, high, low, and robot voices. I used the soldering iron to attach the different resistors. I've also made a key chain with my name on it using the soldering iron.

This week I used the 3D printer. Today (Jan 31) I printed a right side airpod. My friend lost his airpod over the weekend and his birthday is coming up next week. So, as a joke I 3D printed a right side airpod. At first I had some trouble finding a file to print on thingiverse. So I attempted at making a CAD drawing, but it wasn't looking too good. Eventually, I found a file under some random person's youtube video on how to make a CAD drawing of it. I downloaded the stl file and dragged it into Cura. Before printing you have to make sure that the object is flat on the surface so that it doesn't print unnecessary support. It's also important to print supports so that the printing does not mess up. After 52 minutes I had printed an airpod.

Shown in the pictures below:

1. The airpod laid flat in Cura

2. The final result of the airpod 3D printed







15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Phase 2, Post 14: Extra Credit Human Centered Design

Human centered design is the ideal of gaining feedback to improve a design or product. It takes into account the user preference and the perspectives of different people. So, how do we determine what

Final Project : Mouse Case

Link to Video : https://promo.com/share/5cd06ddf861eda0eca33b421 Link to Essay : file:///C:/Users/nabok/OneDrive/Documents/NYU/Spring%202019/3904B/D&T%20Final%20Post.pdf

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page